top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJim Matuska

What truly is a Watercolor....


I'm me, I'm probably more set in my ways than most as far as my artwork is concerned. I like Pen / Ink for the tiny little details I can capture and found I can combine these details into my watercolor paintings as well. Now, this brings me to today's question. The Southern Pacific scene was posted on a certain railroad related web page, and it was refereed to as a "line drawing with a color wash". Maybe the sun and moon were misaligned, or apples became oranges or visa versa, but what am I missing here, what defines a true watercolor painting? This is my style and I'm sticking to it. I like the harshness of the train and softness of the scenery. Call it what you want, but to me, it's work, it's the love of the subject matter, it's what I do.


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page